Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation PhD Marketing 2015 Admisions

Maria7

Hi There,

I am an international student and currently applying for PhD programs in marketing. Hope you guys can help evaluate my profile.

Research Interest - Consumer Behavior: e.g., how surrounding events influence our purchase decisions

Undergrad - B.E in Electronics Engineering GPA: 3.55/4.00 (top 5% out of 300+ students)

Graduate - MBA, marketing concentration (not from a business school in USA) GPA: 3.4/4.00

GRE - 312 (V:154 Q: 158)

Research Experience - I have done research during my MBA on 1> Marketing strategy to improve customer footfall and sales; 2> Developed a market entry strategy for new product launch - Mobile TV within the Indian market.

Work Experience - Overall 8 yrs of work experience; 6 yrs in Service Management Consulting - developing customer processes, designing workflows to create smooth handoffs between different business units; and 2.5 years as software engineer.

letter of recommendation - Getting two letters; One is from a professor of Engineering in my graduate program, the other is from my supervisor in one of the firms I worked as a Process Research and Consultantancy.

I am worried that my GRE is too low for a university to even consider me. Also my profile is not striking enough. Please give me your advice. Which universities should I target? Your help will be greatly appreciated.

thanks in advance

1. Yes your GRE is low. I think it is 63 %ile for V and 71 %ile for Q. You need to hit at least 90th percentile (an equivalent of 700 in GMAT) to be even in the consideration set.

2. Your MBA research is not relevant to the kind of research done in academics. Read a lot of papers from Journal of Consumer Research and Journal of Consumer Psychology to understand what the field is all about.

3. LORs should *always* be from professors (preferably research active professors).