Urch Forums

Phd Finance candidate 2009. Need advise

phdfinance2009

Hello all,

I need your advise on how to improve my chance of getting into top Phd finance program (Stanford, Columbia, Chicago, Insead, Harvard, MIT)

I am 31 years

Bachelor in Business from University of Southern California (GPA: 3.65/4.0)

MBA from University of Southern California (GPA: 3.65/4.0)

Work experience:

During MBA: I work as a teaching assistant for 2 classes (strategy and financial valuation)

Prior to MBA: - 4 years in Major investment bank in quantitative research (analyst). I was based in the US.

After MBA - 5 years in Major electronics (I run the market research & competitiveness dept - overseeing business analysts to support M&A and business development activities). I am based in the US, Hong Kong, and SIngapore.

Misc: I travel alot to US, EU, and all over Asia.

GRE: Have not taken the test

Citizenship: Indonesian

Thanks a million

C

There are two things that would concern me when I look at your background.

1) With a Bachelors in Business followed by an MBA, I am not sure if you have had a chance to take all of the math course work that is expected of applying students to top finance programs like the ones you mentioned. If you haven't had courses in multi variable calculus, linear algebra and probability, it is fair to put your chances of admission to these places as zero.

2) You have had very substantial work experience but only some of that would be seen as valuable to your desire of getting a PhD. Therefore when you will be writing your SOP, the onus will be on you to craft a good story and convince the adcom that you understand what you are getting yourself into and are interested in a faculty position once you are done with your PhD.