Urch Forums

looking for advice on my 2-3 year plan to grad school - recent college grad

novushomo

I graduated college this spring and will be spending the next year traveling and pursuing some personal projects (research assistant pay over a couple years adds up!). In the near future, 2-3 years from now, I'd like to have a strong enough profile to have a shot at some top 5 programs. I've talked to a couple professors, but would really appreciate more insight/ opinions. Here is a little background:

PROFILE:

Type of Undergrad: decent school (USnews top 50), no grad econ program

Undergrad GPA: 3.9x, top 10%

Math Courses: calc 1-3, low level stats course (all As except for calc 3 which I foolishly signed up for pass/ fail, so I only have a "P")

Econ Courses: standard undergrad stuff, about 10 classes all together (all As)

Letters of Recommendation: should be strong, all from top 5 ph.ds 3-6 years out of grad school

Research Experience: 2 years, 3 summers as research assistant for several faculty

Teaching Experience: teaching assistant for undergrad econometrics

I'm taking differential equations this summer and would plan on having at least linear algebra and real analysis (or something proof based) by the time I apply.

1. Is there anything else I could do besides more math to help improve my profile (and what is the rate of diminishing marginal return to profile strength for math courses past linear algebra and real analysis)?

2. I'd love to do a year or two long full-time research assistant position after I return from traveling. How competitive are these positions and would it be significant for admissions?

Thanks for the thoughts, I realize this is pretty abstract -- I just want to hear other ideas!