Urch Forums

Humboldt MEMS / Frankfurt GSEFM economics HELP!!

sohnji

Hello,

I'm an international student majored in math and i hoped to study economics in german univerisities. I applied for Bonn, Mannheim, Humblo ldt berlin, Frankfurt, etc, and I got admission from Humboldt(HU) MEMS master in econ and management and Frankfurt GSEFM phd+mqe in economics.

Since I have no general info about german schools other than the international rankings, I applied for as many schools as I managed to and now I'm having hard times deciding which school to go. If you are studying inside one of these programs or you're doing master or doctoral in econ at other german or european schools, so that you could give me some advices, it will help me a lot.

Looking into the school's webpage and threads in many forums, I got an impression that Frankfurt has strength in Macro and Finance and also that the job placement has been successful in macro and fin areas. (Also, i wrote to one of faculty members there and she replied that it is indeed, but she didn't say about micro.) However, since my major interests are in Micro theory, applied micro, game thy and so on, and I also want to study other social sciences and humanities together with economics hoping that would be interesting academic connection, I wonder if the school fits well with my characteristics.

How is it to study micro in Frankfurt? Is it also strong in micro or would it be a bad idea to study micro there?

About MEMS Humboldt university, It is master's program in econ and management sci, but i think i can focus more on econ by my choice. I tried to get some more information about the school, program, but was not successful.