Urch Forums

MA Econ at NYU vs. MSc in Finance and Econ from Warwick for Private Sector Jobs

Not to repeatedly beat a dead horse,but I have a question about Master's programs in Economics. First some facts,

1. I have been offered admission to the MA program in Economics at NYU and the MSc Finance and Economics program at Warwick in the UK.

2. I have also received PhD offers with full funding from UC Davis and UC Irvine.

3. I am waiting to hear back from Cornell and Johns Hopkins University PhD.

In this respect, I have three questions:

1. In terms of getting a job in the PRIVATE SECTOR, which Masters program (Warwick or NYU) will give me better placement and exposure?

2. My math background includes Linear Algebra, Multivariable Calculus, Mathematical Proof Techniques, Advanced Calculus and Probability Theory. How difficult will the first year of a PhD program at UC Davis be for me?

3. If anybody has any idea, what is the rate of dropout after the first year at UC Davis?

Any advice/suggestion will be greatly appreciated.

Having met many Warwick MSc Finance and Ecnomics students, my feeling is that you will be better of with the NYU econ MA.

LSE, Oxford and Warwick all have finance&economics masters and especially LSE offers plenty of variations (just "finance", "finance and accounting", financial economics etc) (IMHO the big name in UK is London Business School and within Warwick the good/tough MSc is Financial Mathematics offered by WBS and WMaths Institute)

Anyway, I'm thinking how can you distinguish yourself from all the above graduates? (Imagine classes of at least 50 x (how many similar programs)) I belive NYU will give you an advantage.

(Of course comparing two programs involves comparing your chances of doing well in each program etc)