Urch Forums

Do I have a good chance of getting accepted into PhD at a reputable school?

M16

Do I have a good chance of getting accepted into PhD at a reputable school?

Hi,

I am an international student. I have a bachelor's degree in economics and master's degree in finance (taught in English) from my home country. Also, I have a master's degree in Accounting from a regional school in the U.S. In addition, I am currently pursuing an MBA with a concentration in IT. I worked at one of the big 4 CPA firms for one and half year and I am currently working at the same college I graduated from in the U.S. at the administrative level. My GPA is 3.72 and I am currently preparing for the GMAT. In addition, I have been approved to teach a few courses at the same college I graduated from. My question is, do I have a good chance of getting accepted into a PhD business program at a reputable school given the fact that I don't have any previous research experience? I am applying in particular to UMass Amherst's Management program. Thanks in advance for your invaluable input!

I don't have any previous research experience?

This forum would be a good place to start....look at how others have structured their "profile evaluation" questions.....and hopefully you'll get valuable inputs.

Prima Facie: Economics-----> Finance-----> Accounting-----> MBA (IT)------>PhD Management..............I think Accounting ruined the alphabetical order...!!!

• Like 1

Heartburn... Shouldn't have had fish and chips at midnight... Oh Disney Down-Town, you know just how to charge $20 for something that isn't worth $10

Let's do this thing.

"I am an international student."

What nation?

"I have a bachelor's degree in economics and master's degree in finance (taught in English) from my home country."

Did this help or hinder your ability to comprehend the material?

"Also, I have a master's degree in Accounting from a regional school in the U.S."

That's a lot of education, but I can se...