Urch Forums

PhD in Finance Preparation & Career Advice

ReadtheBlogs

After considerable consideration I have decided to pursue a second bachelors degree in mathematics (statistics) at a teaching oriented institution in order to acquire the necessary background to prepare for admissions into a PhD in Finance program. Whether I actually finish the math (stats) degree is I believe irrelevant, the point of re-enrolling as a second bachelors candidate is to satisfy the necessary pre-requisities in math, statistics, economics and computer science for a PhD in Finance and hopefully gain some meaning research experience. The second bachelors option was the cheapest and most convient path for me given my current financial and family situation rather than enrolling in a masters program. Plus, I already have on-going relationships with the professors at the institution because it is where I completed my first degree. My plan is to apply to PhD in finance programs for fall 2013 - so I have approximately 2 years of prerequisities that I need to complete.

My goal is to get accepted to a PhD program in Finance - realistically I will probably be aiming for a tier 2 or tier 3 school depending on my GMAT score.

Profile:

My undergraduate GPA was a 3.8 (Accounting & Economics major) and I worked in industry for 3 years as a Certified Public Accountant (CPA). I have no real quantative or computer programming background - I will be starting in Calculus 1 in the fall.

Questions:

I have a couple of questions/issues regarding how to best prepare for a program over the next two years:

- How important is progamming knowledge to Ad-coms? Do you need only a basic proficiency in C++ or more, i.e. advanced C++ knowledge and FORTRAN, Matlab, GAUSS, and R?

- How important are the learning of statistical software programs such as STATA, SPSS, and SAS?