Urch Forums

730: How I studied, and how to prepare

nhedges

I haven't contributed much to this forum, for which I apologise, but have found it very useful in preparation. Thanks especially to Erin for making this website a source of great inspiration and many thorough answers to baffling GMAT questions and issues.

I took the GMAT today and scored a higher mark than I had expected:

Scaled Percentile

Q 44 74

V 47 99

TOTAL 730 97

Clearly my verbal is far better than my mathmatical capability.

What I really wanted to pass on is that it is possible to score a relatively good score with a lot of practice, hard work and, in some ways most importantly, a clear grasp of good GMAT-answering strategy.

To put this in context. My practice test scores were quite low and I haven't done ANY maths since I was 16 (12 years ago).

Kaplan Test Scores: - 540,550,560,570

PP Test Scores: 600,700

As you can see my practice tests were far away from what I actually got, which should give other GMAT aspirants reason for. I put my improvement down to a number of things:

1) I totally cracked Verbal by using Official Guide and answering every question in the book. I broke the book up into 41 questions (all of the same type) and went through them answering each set in the 1:15 you're given in the real thing. At first I was getting about 30 questions out of every 41 correct but with practice and understanding the reasoning behind the official answers on ones that I got wrong I got this up to 40-41. Timed practice is hugely important.