Urch Forums

Can a person like me who did undergrad in law pursue a PhD in Finance?

eugene10

Hi guys,

I just finished my MBA degree in the US (from a top40-50 b-school in the nation based on USnews rankings) and majored in finance and general management. I graduated with Beta Gamma Sigma (CGPA 3.95/4.0). My finance courses taken in my MBA program are fundamental finance (core component of MBA foundation classes), corporate finance, investment, financial derivatives, financial statements analysis, advanced corporate finance, case study in financial strategy and mergers & acquisitions. Also, as part of foundation classes, I took eco and stats in the fall semester of Year 1.

I worked for more than 8 years in total but none was finance-related. I am highly interested in finance and wanna change my career to pursue finance for the rest of my life. I realize that successful candidates have to be from maths/engineering/computer science background (or other science related fields), but my undergrad was majored in law. Due to system difference, my undergrad college didn't calculate a standard GPA. Based on my own calculation, it was equivalent to 2.7 something out of 4.0 (the calculation was done to apply for my MBA program).

My GMAT was taken in September,2007 with 700/92%,35v/75%,49q/89% and 5.0w.

LORs may not be strong enough.

Based on my profile, I was wondering whether I can pursue a finance PhD. If so, what schools should I apply for? Thank you very much.

Hi guys,