Urch Forums

Fifth/Sixth year funding

ForumWhiner

Hi all,

I have a question regarding PhD stipends. I see that many US programs (at least at places I've applied) provide fellowship/assistance for only four years of the program. Given that 6-year time period to graduation is becoming the norm in many schools, I was wondering how do students finance themselves?

Thank you.

When I spoke to a current student at one of the schools where I have applied (they also fund four years), he had mentioned that finishing in five years is standard there. And provided you are working on dissertation, they fund for fifth year as well.

Hi all,

I have a question regarding PhD stipends. I see that many US programs (at least at places I've applied) provide fellowship/assistance for only four years of the program. Given that 6-year time period to graduation is becoming the norm in many schools, I was wondering how do students finance themselves?

Thank you.

4-5 years is standard from what I have heard. Some schools will push you through in 4, others state their program takes 5 years to complete. I have heard that anything that goes beyond 5 years is on the student.... meaning the student is responsible for not finishing "on time" and therefore has to support himself financially.

I would say that for marketing 5 years is the standard at this point. I know a lot of people who went for 6, but the majority is 5 (and I think there will be a push in the near term for a 5 year standard).