Urch Forums

PhD Program Suggestions in Financial Macroeconomics and/or Econometrics

kekecib

Hello Everyone,

I am an international student who received his master’s in economics with a minor in mathematics and started a new master’s in statistics this Fall after getting shut off from nearly all schools I applied last year. Being a lot more cautious this year, I applied or will apply to PhD programs in Economics listed in my signature for Fall 2012. However, considering my profile below, I wonder if you have some suggestions for schools that are good in financial macroeconomics and econometrics. My school range is, I guess, between top 25 and 75.

PROFILE:

Type of Undergrad: BA from Tourism Administration from a university within top 3 in my country.

Undergrad GPA: 3.54 (Graduated second in my class with high honors)

Type of Grad: MS in Economics (completed) and MS in Statistics (currently enrolled) from nonranked universities in USA.

Grad GPA: 3.82 (MS in Econ) and 4.00 (MS in Statistics)

GRE: 800Q 690V 4AWA

TOEFL 110 overall (out of 120). Reading 28, Listening 28, Speaking 26, Writing 28( all out of 30)

Undergraduate Math & Stat Courses: Business Math 1-2 (B+, A-), Cal 1-2 (A+, A+), Multivariate Calculus (A+), ODE (A+), PDE (A+), Real Analysis 1-2(A+, A+), Operations Research (A+), Linear Algebra(A+), Quantitative Techniques (A-), and Research Methodology (A-)

Graduate Math & Stat Courses: Probability (B+), Statistics (A+), Matrix Theory (A+), Mathematical Statistics 1 (A+), Statistics in Research (A+), Graduate Stat Seminar 1 (Bayesian Nonparametrics, A+), Mathematical Statistics 2 (Spring 2012), Multivariate Data Analysis (Spring 2012), Graduate Stat Seminar 2 (Spring 2012), and Computational Methods of Linear Algebra (Spring 2012).

Undergraduate Econ Courses: Principles of Micro & Macro (B+, A+), Intermediate Micro & Macro (A+,A+), Tourism Economics (B+), Introduction to Finance (A+), and Investment Management (A+)