Urch Forums

Non-Degree student for Math Coursework - Question(s)

Econhead

My wife is receiving significantly better offers than I am, and unless something pans out (seems rather hail-marry like to me at this point), it appears that we'd be better off taking her best offer and choosing for me not to attend. I would only do this, of course, if I am able to take courses as a non-degree student nearby so that I could improve my profile while waiting. The crux of my poor application is my poor undergraduate math-I worked extensively, and prior to finding Urch I didn't understand the importance. I found Urch 2 years after I graduated-poor grades are still following me.

That said, I am considering reapplying in 2 years, and retaking Calc2-3, DiffEQ, Real Analysis, and perhaps another course before reapplying. I would no longer be working 40-60 hours a week, giving me the time needed to study. (Something I haven't had for the last 4 years).

The question: Generally speaking, do private universities allow this, or is this mostly something that only state-schools allow? I'm not suggesting anything like Princeton-something that'd be in the comparable Econ ranking of T20-T40.

Thanks,

Econ

Yes, I took non-degree courses at two good private universities. You should be able to find information about this on the internet for individual schools, no?

Yes, I was just hoping for a rather broad answer that might be a catch all, given that this is still relatively early. As time draws nearer, and if this becomes a more realistic possibility, I will certainly be looking at specific universities.

I do appreciate the answer. Both of you.

As far as I know, almost all universities have some kind of student-at-large or continuing education program that you can take classes through. Just a couple examples.You should be able to take undergrad or even graduate classes through them, especially if your spouse is a grad student at the same school.