Urch Forums

Would indicating no need for funding improve admit chances?

ids1

I am an older student looking to go into a PhD program after a caree on Wall Street.. I have a pretty strong profile as far as school pedigree, grades, graduate schools, GRE, research experience and LORs. However, I realize that being older than typical and being out of academic environment for a while is a shortcoming.

I am comfortable funding myself for at least 2 years, provided I get into a strong enough program to rationalize it.

I was wondering whether reaching out to PhD coordinator and letting them know about this factor would improve my admit chances. On one hand, the unusual nature of my profile creates a "risk"

in the eyes of the adcom.. but on the other hand if I don't need to be funded, theoretically this mitigates the cost of this "risk".

Any thoughts anyone ?

Absolutely, if you don't need funding for first year but the adcom thinks you could handle the coursework, they are much much more likely to give you an offer of admission. That's your chance to show you can handle it.

However, you'll need to be one of the best students in the program to then receive funding down the line. Funding is a commitment for many years to students who come into a program. It's a risk departments take to get people in the door. The idea is that a handful will turn out to be great. They probably wish they could just get rid of the weaker students after two or three years. However, they have to have more than just the very best students complete the program for a variety of reasons... would you attend if only 3 or 4 out of 20 made it through?

Essentially, the problem is they don't know in advance who they should fund so they fund "too many" students. If you aren't one of the top people in you cohort after a year or two, you might find it quite difficult to secure funding.