Urch Forums

H1 to Green card

Anita A

I graduated last year and was hired by TRX. My company sponsored me for my H1 and now I am thinking of asking them to sponsor me for my green card. Few questions

1. I know companies are reluctant to sponsor H1 visas, is this the case for Green card sponsorship as well?

2. How long is the entire procedure? Does the length of time depend on the place of birth? or degree?

I was born in Kuwait, nationality Pakistan

I have a MBA from Georgia State University

3. At present my H1 visa is on paper (was transfered from f1 and the f1 visa is expired) Although I can stay in the country and work, I will need a visa to return back if I travel. I dont want to take that chance and so I am thinking getting a green card and then travelling is the safest option. So once I apply, how long before I can travel?

Thanks Tino/Others. Please advice, i plan totalk to my boss about the Green card sponsorship before the holidays, preferably today:)

Anita

• 3 weeks later...

I have contacted the following company for my green card procedure and received a response from one of their attorneys. Has any one heard of

The American Immigration Network? Click on the website below

American Immigration Network - usavisanow.com - U.S. Immigration assistance for H-1B, K-1 and L-1 visas, marriage, labor certification and national interest waiver green cards.

• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...

Somehow I missed your post. I have been away recently....

1. I know companies are reluctant to sponsor H1 visas, is this the case for Green card sponsorship as well?

Companies do not sponsor you for your Green Card. You do that on your own. I guess a company could help pay for it, but I don't know about that.

2. How long is the entire procedure? Does the length of time depend on the place of birth? or degree?

I was born in Kuwait, nationality Pakistan

I have a MBA from Georgia State University