Urch Forums

Importance of MA/MSc Economics before the PhD??

Shehryar

Hi guys

This is Shehryar from Pakistan. I know ive blabbed on for quie a bit down here but id appreciate the time.

I graduated in 2008 with a First Class Honors degree of the University of London via the External System. The External System is basically the program through which the UoL awards

its degree to students who cannot afford to study in England or cannot attend a good university due to other problems. I enrolled for the degree at University College Lahore, an unknown institution but with quite a repute with the UoL. The courses are exactly the same as those that are offered to LSE students internally.

Now the siuation is that I have waited one year so that i could get teaching and research experience and now im ready for the application 'season'. :)

The thing thats bothering me is that i dont think im not a top 10 PhD in Economics applicant yet. Considering my profile, what do you guys recommend? I didnt take real analysis or topology and stuff but i fulfill all other entry requirements. But i am from Pakistan and i havent seen a Pakistani anywhere close to entering the PhD Economics in the Top 10 in the past (theres always a first time for everything :))

My personal opinion is that a Masters first would be the way to go and i might apply to Oxbridge and LSE for that in Sep 2009.

Expecting prompt and a good deal of helpful advice

And yeah, I had the best worldwide result for the Bsc (Hons) Economics and Finance and I have also been tutor of the University of London Math course (integral and differential calculus, linear and matrix algebra). how much does that help?

But i am from Pakistan and i havent seen a Pakistani anywhere close to entering the PhD Economics in the Top 10 in the past (theres always a first time for everything :))

Just for the sake of a counter example.. heres one