Urch Forums

NYU(MA in Econ) or Tufts(MA in Econ) or Columbia(MA in Stat)?

GreAgain

Hi, Everyone Here!

I am an international student and plan to work in US after I graduate with a master degree there.

Currently, I have three program choices:

a. NYU(MA in Econ):at least three semesters

b. Tufts(MA in Econ): two semesters, and four courses per semester

c. Columbia(MA in Statistics): two to four semesters, and much free time in the day

My questions are:

1. Given such economic environment, which program will help me most to find a decent job?

2. After working for 3-5 years, perhaps I will apply for MBA or MSF. If I take this aim into account, which program should I choose?

Thanks a lot for your opinions. :)

i absolutely love his blog. for what it is worth, usnews does not have columbia in the top ten for stat programs (can't see beyond that).

My understanding is that the US News rank is for statistics is actually for statistics within math departments and is a subcategory of the math rankings. For example Princeton is listed even though it has no statistics department. Also, the US News rankings for PhD programs are a purely reputation based ranking derived from a faculty survey with a low response rate so I never really trust them for any PhD field.

I think the last NRC had Columbia stats some where in the 20-25 range, but I have been told that the department has improved a lot in the past 15 years.

Columbia Statistics. A MA in Econ buys nothing! I also think that Columbia Stats is a top stats program too (not sure), you can do more stuff with it

Thanks for your reply.:)

It seems that the placement of NYU Econ master graduates is not bad. Its location is quite advantagous and the reputation is also good....

Columbia is appealing, but I still would like to know more about the two Econ MA programs, Tufts and NYU.

What occurred to me when I saw the title was

NYU(MA) NYU(MA) iei, NYU(MA) NYU(MA) iei, NYU(MA) NYU(MA) NYU(MA) iei...