Urch Forums

LSE, UCL or BGSE MSc in Economics for entry to top PhD?

Bblueberry001

Hi,

I have received an offer for MSc Economics in LSE, UCL and Barcelona GSE. Now I need to make a decision and would appreciate some advice.

After the MSc I want to go on to do PhD. One of the places I really want to go for PhD is Columbia, however I also want to have a chance for the top 10 universities, just so I have the option.

My background is in Mathematics. I have a Master in maths from Cambridge.

I know that LSE has a better reputation outside the academic circles. But how does it compare with UCL and BGSE within the academic circles? Based on my research, BGSE economics master is more rigorous and the subjects are quite advanced, so it seems like a better PhD preparation whereas LSE seems more of a professional training. I've also been told many times that UCL is a better teaching institute than LSE. So my question is, which one would boost my PhD application better?

Fees and language are not a problem for me. I'm already fluent in Spanish (for living in Barcelona). And I have saved up some money from my previous scholarships to pay some of the fee, and since I'm from UK, if I study at LSE or UCL I can apply for an educational loan from my bank (although, admittedly it would be nice not to have to be in debt). I have also worked and studied at the same time for years, so I don't mind doing that again during my Master to earn my living.

Additionaly, if I decide to do a PhD in the US, I really want to get a Fulbright scholarship (there is a UK award program for British citizens). This is mostly for the prestige and the hope that being part of the Fulbright community would open more doors for me.

Thanks for reading this far! I'd appreciate any advice you may have.