Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation - 2023 Ph.D. in Marketing

the_real_slim

Hi everyone,

Hi, I'm a working male professional, Engineering + MBA(IIT Bombay + IIM Calcutta, top-tier colleges), from India. I wish to pursue a Ph.D. in Marketing from a top-20 university in the US. I am also open to more options for a safe bet.

What am I looking for?

People with experience in PhD applications or those who've helped PhD aspirants review my profile and help me understand how to move from here to secure a seat at a top-tier US B-school. I would like to understand:
- Colleges to aim for
- what else should I do to present a well-rounded profile

Here's a brief outline of my profile:

Educational Qualification:

MBA from IIM Calcutta (Class of 2015) - 3.0/4.0 (WES)

B.Tech from IIT Bombay (Class of 2011) - 3.3/4.0 (WES)
Major: Aerospace Engineering

12th : 95.3%
10th : 95%

Work Experience:

- I have a total post-MBA work experience of 5 years including research experience as of April 2022.
- I have worked as a Marketing & Sales Manager for an MNC - FMCD products for close to 30 months. Rated well in both years and have received multiple awards for Best Performer.
- I have worked as a Category Manager and Marketing Head for a couple of Unicorns($1Bn Valuation) for a year.
- I have been working as Research Assistant(RA) with the Indian School of Business(ISB) for over 2 years.

My broad interest areas include - Quantitative Marketing & Modelling, and Retail Marketing.

My timeline and current status - I am looking to apply for 2023. I have a GMAT score of 730 (38- 84%, 50 - 87%, IR - 7, AWA - 6) and TOEFL - 115 (R - 29, W - 28, S - 29, L - 29).

Add ons:
- Part of the sports teams in the universities and headed multiple educational and recreational clubs in the University.
- Worked with NGOs on pro-bono projects.

A huge thanks in advance, looking forward to every word of constructive feedback! :)