Urch Forums

AntoineLPC

Hi guys,

I really need some help to chose between PSE and BU Master's programs.

I graduated from very top ranked engineering school in France in Mechanics. After personal readings and a one-year research experience (in mechanics) I realized I wanted to go for a PhD in Economics and work in the academic field in economics.

I applied to PhDs in the US and got admitted in Boston University PhD program. But I felt I could get higher ranked PhD schools so I asked to transfer from Phd to BU MA. in Economics (which I've been authorized). BU MA is a one year program. Meanwhile I have been admitted to Paris School of Economics APE two-year Master Program.

My goal is to get to top 10 US Phd schools. So I have basically two options:

- attend APE Master to get decent LORs and good economic background (and mathematic background)

- attend BU one-year MA and then spending one year as a RA with a professor in BU or ideally MIT or Harvard (I ok to do it whithout being paid)

I just don't know if: it is commun in the US to do research with a professor whithout being enrolled anymore in an academic program of the university and if out of these two options, one would be more strategic.

Besides, BU is expensive (40 000$ though I have 20 000 dollars Fulbright scholarship) and PSE is almost free.

If anybody can help me I would be very thankful, I have only few days to make my decision!

Thank you very much!!

Hi!