Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation_19fall_US/EU schools_OB

phdquan

Newbie here! I've finished most of my preparation and am just working on PS and RL, but still am a bit hesitant about my school choices. All advice are welcomed! If anyone else is applying the OB phd for fall 2019, please feel free to reach out and connect!

Test Scores (GMAT/GRE):

GMAT 740(97%), v41(93%), Quant 49 (74%), AW 5(53%), IR 4 (38%)

Question: my overall score is decent, however the new IR segment is fairly low, will this have a big influence on my overall chances?

Undegrad GPA: 3.32/4 - Marketing, an unknown school in China

Graduate GPA: 3.78/4 - Ms in Marketing, Arizona State University (Thunderbird school of global mgmt)

Research Experience: one published paper as second author in 2013, Journal of Media and Communication Studies

Teaching Experience: N/A

Work Experience: 3.5 years in digital marketing in the U.S.

Concentration Applying to: Organizational Behavior

Number of programs planned to apply to: 7

Dream Schools:

Harvard

MIT

Stanford

Other Questions:

What made you want to pursue a PhD?

3 years of corporate life made me miss the intellectual challenge and constant learning in school.

as a high skilled immigrant visa holder, I witnessed how skilled immigrant workers are under-employed with multiple restriction, inspiring me to learn new ways to motivate, engage and max the potential of this group

Questions or concerns you have about your profile?

1. I want to teach in a U.S. school after graduation, is it worth it to apply to EU schools? currently I'm looking into INSEAD but am a bit concerned about whether the placement/research will be heavily depended on your location.

2. Anyone familiar with INSEAD and Wharton's combined phd program?

3. with my profile, is it realistic to apply to all top 50 schools? my current plan is to apply again next year if I don't get to my top schools, but am def a bit concerned about my background due to low undergrad GPA