Urch Forums

Math required for game theory at PhD level

demoralized

Hi all,

I am wondering what is the recommended level of math required for game theory? As a business PhD student, I have to take a PhD course in game theory next winter, but my background is basically up to calc 2 and matrix algebra. I am just looking to survive the class (i.e. pass), not get an A or anything. I am also currently taking a masters economics course this semester that will expose me to game theory during the last 1/3 of the course. All in all, how hard of a time will I probably have passing the PhD game theory course given my background?

Is this PhD game theory course a field course, or the 2nd part of a year long sequence in micro theory from the econ dept? For that matter is this PhD course taught by the math dept., the econ dept or the business dept. You should expect some proofs, but, so long as it's not from the Math dept or a Micro Theory II course that's named Game Theory, I wouldn't worry too much. The math may be tough, depending upon what papers are used, but it's not the type of stuff that the people who took analysis I and II have a huge advantage over you in. If you're not familiar with proofs take a glance at Fundenberg and Tirole's Game Theory book to see what sort of techniques you'll need to be picking up over the semester. For review, though, I'd try a much easier book like Gibson.

Personally, I found that the mathematical foundations of game theory was probably the most challenging math that we did all year. There were people in the class from other departments who had no idea what was going on for those 2-3 weeks, but then bounced back just fine when it came back to applications.

But if you want to truly understand game theory (and honestly, I still don't), then a very solid foundation in math is required, IMHO.