Urch Forums

Transition to Economics from CS&Maths Undergrad?

yjluca98

Hi guys,

I'm currently an undergraduate student at Oxbridge, studying CS & Maths.

Recently, after doing a research project in game theory, I have been reading various texts and taking online courses (MIT OCW, etc.) in economics, and I'm finding it extremely interesting so far. I might be thinking too many steps ahead, but I would like to make a transition to economics; I would like to continue on to a PhD program, preferably in the US (I always wanted to take on postgraduate studies, it feels like economics is the one).

I've come to know that a lot of programs look favourably upon students with heavy maths and programming background, but also that they expect at least some previous exposure to economics at the undergraduate level. Yet, as I'm studying in the UK, I'm only doing courses in maths and computer science, and quite likely that I will need to do a masters degree to match that expectation.

I have been more or less in the top 15-20% of my cohort (trying to get those up), and my coursework includes (this list could get much longer if I continue on to 4th year):

(Maths) Linear Algebra, Groups, Real Analysis, 2 years of Probability Theory, Multivariable Calculus, Differential Equations (ODEs and PDEs), Complex Analysis, Topology, Statistics, Functional Analysis, Probability and Measure, Stochastic Calculus, Dynamical Systems, Differential Geometry and more

(CompSci) Object Oriented Programming, 2 years of Algorithms, Computational Complexity, Machine Learning, Computational Game Theory, and more (I cut down some courses rather irrelevant)

What would be some possible pathways for me to get into Top Econ PhD programs? Should I do a masters degree in economics (e.g. LSE EME, Cambridge Diploma then MPhil)? Or does anyone have other suggestions? Realistically speaking, what would be my chances?

Thank you everyone! I would hugely appreciate any advice.