Urch Forums

Do econ Ph.D adcoms care about research in other fields?

aukey

I am an undergrad at an HRM school in the US majoring in math. I will likely finish a B.S/M.S at a very high level of pure math (think Kac-Moody algebras and Galois cohomology). I am unsure whether I will be doing grad school in economics or physics. Will economics departments care about substantial research done in physics or mathematics? What about LORs from physicists or mathematicians?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Anything that proves you are good at math is a plus. Anything that shows you can carry a research project to completion is also a plus. One letter from a physicist or mathematician can be okay, but probably best if the others come from economists.

Do they care? Yes, it's a plus, conditional on you meeting all the standard criteria for a typical top 10-15 econ admit (from an US undergrad) -- i.e. economics major AND [ 1-2 years of part-time econ RA experience OR 1 year of full-time econ RA experience], with at least 2 decent letters from economists.