Urch Forums

Economic definition of rationality (and irrationality)

jaimelannister

Hi all,

This is something that has been bugging me for a while. Economists and non-economists* often throw the term rationality and irrationality around when referring to subjects pertinent to economics and I often find it is defined ambiguously that it could mean whatever the user might want it to mean. If you as an economist had to define economic rationality or irrationality how would you define that? I understand the definition of economic rationality and irrationality will vary depending on context, so I was also wondering what are the different definitions rationality and irrationality used in economics?

*I'm mainly interested in economist's definitions of rationality.

I suppose I'm not an expert, but I think about rationality as acting so as to maximize utility. This is a topic that I think a lot of people get confused about. A recent poster here claimed that he was acting rationally by not telling one of his friends about this site, and it was pretty clear from the responses that most people disagreed with him (as they should). I think the confusion comes from people associating "rationality" with "self-interest". Acting so as to maximize utility is not the same thing as acting in your best interest. It is possible (and probable) that other people's feelings also factor into your utility function. Perhaps helping your friend get into a good school is a part of your utility function, or even if you don't care what the outcome is, just helping your friend might be part of your utility function. Nothing about keeping this site from his friend was "rational," especially considering the probability of it affecting his cycle is very low.