Urch Forums

Chicago: writing sample necessary?

juliep

Helloto everybody. I have a huge doubt, I think I took a wrong decision and I wanted to know your opinion. I decided not to add any writing sample to my applications because my main advisor told me that it was better to join nothing than an "average" writing sample.

Given my master's thesis was lost (yes... my computer was stolen, my co-worker did not keep it as I was keeping it...my thesis advisor does not keep anything nor my university!!!), that I have been working for 3 years (ouside of academics) and that I have a heavy workload in which I already had to stick time for GRE studying, SOPs and everything related to applications, I decided to skip it.

But I have just received this email from Chicago:

"We have sent your application file to the Department of Economics at their request, but your application remains incomplete. We have updated your online checklist to show the supporting documents currently received. (...) Until we receive your materials, your application will be reviewed as it stands. Incomplete applications are reviewed but may be at a competitive disadvantage."

Do you think it is a serious disadvantage of not sending one (my advisor is better connected at East Cost's universities and maybe underestimated the importance of the wirting sample of Chicago)? Should I quickly write something that will be "average" for sure, or skip it?

I know you are not adcoms ;-) but what is your feeling on this question, from any experience you had?

Thank you very much!

I am in no position whatsoever to contradict whatever your advisor says, but I would have sent one. I was also not extremely happy with the writing sample I sent (just a working paper I wrote with some colleagues), but I guess the aim is to evaluate how you write academically, and not properly the content (even though I might be wrong).