Urch Forums

NYU, Duke or Brandeis for MA Econ?

ndjango

Hi guys, could you guys help me choose between these three programs:

MA Economics at NYU (Accepted) - 1.5 years

MA International Economics and Finance at Brandeis (Accepted with significant scholarship) - 2 years

MA Applied Financial Economics at Duke (Awaiting Decision) - 2 years

Specifically, I would appreciate if you could comment on each school's academic reputation compared to each other, their recruiting facilities and employment prospects as well as career resources, taking into consideration that I am an international student. As you can tell, I'm not interested in pursuing a PhD in the future and working in the industry is the goal here.

Personally, I'm interested in Financial Economics so I really like the Duke's program but am not so sure about the recruiting there. NYU is preferable in terms of location and prestige, but the program would be less financially oriented. And I just don't know enough about Brandeis but the scholarship made it a lot more attractive.

Thanks!

Hey. Duke MA Econ is a great place, especially for academic placements. I see that you wrote "MA Applied Financial Economics". Now what you'll actually get is an M.A. Economics, with a "track" of Applied Financial Economics.

The program is great in that it offers a lot of flexibility. You can take a limited number of Fuqua MBA courses, courses from other departments (math, stats, compsci, etc…) and get to take UG, MA and PhD courses.

The problem with industry placements from a program like this is that recruiters don't know how to place you. They'd like to box you as either a undergraduate junior, or as an MBA student. However, you lack the experience of an MBA student, and you are more qualified than the undergrads. In most cases you'll be looking at post undergrad analyst positions, for which you might actually be overqualified.