Urch Forums

Does a summer internship at a think-tank count as research experience?

kevin1297

Hi,

I'm a sophomore majoring in International Relations and Economics with a minor in math at a small top 40 liberal arts college in Southern California. I am considering a PhD in Economics (hence the math minor) and was wondering how work experience factors into admissions decisions. I know that research is important too, and I just have a couple of questions.

Disclaimer: I am primarily interested in getting a PhD to go into economic policy making (WB, Fed, IMF, etc) specifically in developing countries. A Master's in Public Policy is also an option for me.

Work Experience (relevant to Economics PhD/ Public Policy)

1. Last summer, between my freshman and sophomore year of college, I worked as an intern in DC for a Congresswoman, and wrote memos, did research into upcoming legislation, and wrote and edited speeches for the Congresswoman.

2. I recently got a research assistant position for this upcoming summer (between my sophomore and junior year of college), at the Economic Policy Research Institute located in Cape Town, South Africa. I will be working with Stata and other statistical packages, among other things to help with my research assistantship. Some other things that other past inters have done, and that I will do, include:

• contributed to a large-scale impact evaluation of South Africa’s child support grant;
  • provided research assistance to a feasibility study on expanding the developmental impact of social security payments mechanisms for grant beneficiaries in South Africa;
  • analysed national data-sets to determine the reach of various HIV-sensitive social protection programmes to vulnerable households within five African countries;
  • explored viable policy options for the “vertical expansion” of the South African Child Support Grant (CSG);
  • helped research, write and edit a 20 year review of social protection programmes in South Africa;