Urch Forums

Math Major Better Than Econ for PhD Admission?

narzhy

If I wanted to get a solid math background (I also enjoy it along with Econ) would it be just as beneficial to take a math major as well as grad Econ courses? Taking the honors theory sequence now and planning for first year PhD sequence in the fall of 2021. As long as I have sufficient math background and good grades in the grad courses that is the most I can do from an academic point of view correct?

So I am majoring in both math and economics. A couple of notes, at least from what I think:

1. A math major in itself is not really important; doing well (and learning the material well) in math courses is. If by doing the latter, you happen to get a math degree, great. But realize you can take all of the suggested math coursework without needing to get a major, and the law of diminishing returns does come to play. If you've taken the calculus sequence, linear algebra, probably theory & statistics, differential equations, point-set topology and two semesters of analysis, a semester or two of number theory and abstract algebra potentially required for a math major is not going to give you a whole lot of benefit beyond the courses you have taken. But if you love math and proof courses (which I do), go ahead! Doing well will help you, but doing poorly will hurt you.