Urch Forums

Inquiry about Barcelona GSE MSc Macroeconomic Policy and Financial Markets

Hello Guys!

I have been accepted into the MSc Macroeconomic Policy and Financial Markets program of the Barcelona GSE with a partial tuition waiver.

I was wondering whether anyone has been through this program or has any information as to its quality and how rigorous it is?

I have heard that its a solid and strong program but I am keen to get some more advice and information. Its really very difficult judging by just looking at syllabuses.

I eventually love to get into a top 20 PhD program but I dont know how much this could help me.

Thanks.

well i graduated from that program this year..why don't you tell me more about your background and then i can better guide you..I know some kids who got in TSE, Warwick, Arizona. It is a professional program though, most of the kids who enter are trying to get a job in the macro sector after the degree.

Hi, Thanks for your reply - you made me very excited.

Thats why I have thought of doing another Masters. Initially I applied for the MSc Econ but I was rejected and then considered and accepted for my second choice of MSc Macro policy.

However I have heard that the MSc Econ is really a first year PhD program but the MSc Macro policy is a Masters, a bridge between undergrad and PhD.

But could you tell me really what do you think about the content of the program how advanced they are? and also do you have any particular advice for me?

I have been told by the BGSE that I could take additional courses from the MSc Econ program but they said that it could be very difficult as the work load would be impossible - Is that manageable do you think?

Edited by desperatetodoeconomics

Thats why I have thought of doing another Masters. Initially I applied for the MSc Econ but I was rejected and then considered and accepted for my second choice of MSc Macro policy.